Thanksgiving on Amtrak

According to tonight’s the NewsHour with Jim Lehrer, today is Amtrak’s busiest day. Ridership is 66% above an ordinary day.

9 responses to “Thanksgiving on Amtrak

  1. Just finished annual volunteer guide work at Washington Union Station. While we have much to be thankful for in the new approach to more rail service, we need much more frequency, quality onboard services and, yes, speed.
    Maybe next Thanksgiving we’ll have turned the corner on balance in US transportation policy. Join NARP National Assn of Railroad Passenges and help or at least visit our Hotline. Also, if you think cars are the Way to go, buy a car from me.

  2. Ugh. I don’t think I’d want to be on those trains! I’m a big fan of riding the train to Chicago from downstate Illinois, but I don’t like being forced to sit with someone I don’t know!

    Happy ICLW!

    • Are you traveling this Thanksgiving weekend? I did a big move from Korea to the US last month, and now I am staying put until after New Year’s. Then more exploring.

  3. I love to ride a train but not on the busiest day of the year…!!

    Dropping by from IComLeavWe

  4. I used to love travelling by train in Europe, I have yet to get on a train here in the states. There just doesn’t seem to be anyplace to go from Austin. Maybe next year I’ll make the time to get on atrain and go somewhere.

    Cheers,

    Rafael, also from ICLW

    • From Austin, you can go lots of places: Dallas, San Antonio, St. Louis, and Chicago. You might want to write your elected officials to get them to fix the track so that the trip doesn’t take forever.

  5. ICLW is nearly over. Hard to believe. Thanks for visiting. Hoping your week was a good one.

Leave a Reply

